Who we are

We are an interdisciplinary team leading a transformative approach to drug R&D based on the modeling of complex biological systems

#drugR&D #insilicomedicine #clinicalresearchmethodology #systemsbiology #machinelearning

Leroy E. HOOD, MD, PhD

Head of the Institute for Systems Biology
Co-founder of Amgen

Leroy E. HOOD

Leroy E. HOOD received his MD from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1964 and his PhD in biochemistry from Caltech in 1968. After 3 years as a Senior Investigator at NIH, his academic career began at Caltech, where he and his colleagues developed the DNA sequencer, DNA synthesizer, protein synthesizer and peptide sequencer, 4 instruments that paved the way for the successful mapping and understanding of the human genome.

A pillar in the biotechnology field, Dr. HOOD has played a role in founding 15 biotechnology companies including Amgen, Applied Biosystems, Integrated Diagnostics and Arivale. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine. Of the more than 6,000 scientists world-wide who belong to one or more of these academies, Dr. HOOD is one of only 15 people nominated to all 3.

Dr. HOOD has co-authored numerous textbooks in biochemistry, immunology, molecular biology and genetics, as well as a popular book on the human genome project: The Code of Codes. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Lasker Award for Studies of Immune Diversity (1987), the Kyoto Prize in advanced technology (2002), the Heinz Award for pioneering work in Systems Biology (2006), and the coveted NAE 2011 Fritz J. and Delores H. Russ Prize for developing automated DNA sequencing.

Dr. HOOD has published over 750 peer reviewed articles and currently holds 36 patents.  In 2013, he received the National Medal of Science from President Obama.  HOOD has been named by The Best Schools as one of the 50 Influential Scientists in the World Today (2014). Scientific American has named Hood as one of the top 6 in their selection of 100 biotech visionaries world-wide (2015).